SEARCH  
Portail Brome-Missisquoi  Brome-Missisquoi Portal
Join us on Facebook
  Facebook  
Follow us on Twitter  Twitter  
See us on Flickr  Flickr  
SHARE  Share 
 
Pour mon projet de...


 

 

WASTE MANAGEMENT    Organic Matter

Back to Organic Matter home page <<<

Accepted and Refused Materials

You’ll find all the information you need right here, to help you sort your organic materials effectively. You will quickly realize that with very little effort and a bit of adapting, it’s really quite simple!

 

List of Accepted and Refused Materials

In this section you’ll find a list of accepted and refused materials for your brown bin. The materials are accepted in bulk, wrapped inside newspapers (or flyers) or placed in paper bags. The grasscycling is the solution for your lawn.

So, in short, what does a brown bin eat?

The brown bin will take all types of food, raw or cooked, fresh or tainted, including fruits and vegetables, meat, sauces, dairy products, fish and seafood. Your brown bin will also accept paper and cardboard, soiled or not, as well as tissues and paper towels that haven’t been in contact with chemical products (cleaning products, motor oil, paint, etc.).

Moreover, a portion of your dead leaves can be sent to the composting centre via the brown bin collected by your municipality.

LITTER AND ANIMAL FECES: In bulk or in paper bags only! No “poop” bags! (these bags, even if they’re biodegradable, won’t be accepted at the composting centre).

Some Clarifications about Refused Materials

PLASTIC OR BIODEGRADABLE BAGS AND COMPOSTABLE DISHES: No plastic-type bags, compostable or biodegradable, will be accepted in the brown bin because they require more decomposing time than the regular composting process and therefore will contaminate the end product.

This applies to compostable dishware as well. As for oxo degradable products, they are actually made with plastic microparticles, so only the binding agent will degrade in the light.

GLASS: It seems quite obvious to everyone that glass doesn’t ever go into the brown bin, in no matter what form. It is in fact one of the most problematic contaminants in composting centres because it’s impossible to remove all the little fragments from mature compost.

CIGARETTE BUTTS: cigarette filters are not biodegradable and therefore cannot go into the brown bin… Anyway, how would like to see all these chemical products in your tomatoes?

RECHERCHE  

Joignez-vous à nous sur Facebook
  Facebook  
Suivez nous sur Twitter  Twitter  
See us on Flickr  Flickr  

 
Pour mon projet de...

 

MATIÈRES RÉSIDUELLES    Matières organiques

Retour à l'accueil des matières organiques <<<

Matières acceptées et refusées

Vous trouverez ici toute l’information nécessaire pour effectuer adéquatement le tri de vos matières organiques. Vous verrez rapidement qu’avec un brin de volonté et un peu d’adaptation, la gestion des matières organiques n’est pas compliquée du tout.

 

Liste des matières acceptées et refusées

Vous trouverez dans cette section une liste présentant les matières acceptées et refusées dans votre bac brun. Les matières sont acceptées en vrac, emballées dans du papier journal (ou de circulaire), ou dans des sacs de papier. L'herbicyclage est la solution pour votre gazon.

En résumé, qu'est-ce que ça mange un bac brun?

Le bac brun acceptera toute nourriture, crue ou cuite, fraîche ou avariée, incluant fruits et légumes, viandes, sauces, produits laitiers, poissons et fruits de mer. Votre bac brun acceptera aussi le papier et carton, souillé ou non, ainsi que les papiers mouchoirs et essuie-tout qui n’ont pas été en contact avec un produit chimique (produit nettoyant, huile à moteur, peinture, etc.).

De plus, une certaine proportion des feuilles pourra être acheminée au centre de compostage via le bac brun, complétée par les collectes municipales.

LITIÈRE ET EXCRÉMENTS D’ANIMAUX : en vrac ou en sac de papier seulement, pas de «sacs à caca»! (Les sacs, même compostables, ne sont pas acceptés à la plateforme de compostage.)

Précision sur certaines matières refusées

SACS DE PLASTIQUE COMPOSTABLE OU BIODÉGRADABLES ET VAISSELLE COMPOSTABLE : aucun sac de type plastique, compostable ou biodégradable, n’est accepté dans le bac brun, car ils nécessitent plus de temps que le processus de compostage régulier, et contaminent donc le produit fini.

Cela s'applique également pour la vaisselle compostable. Pour ce qui est des sacs oxo-dégradables, ils sont en réalité formés de microparticules de plastique, dont seul le liant se dégrade à la lumière.

VERRE : bien qu’il semble évident pour tous que le verre, peu importe sa forme, ne va pas dans le bac brun, le verre s’avère être le contaminant le plus problématique dans les centres de compostage puisqu’il est impossible d’en retirer les petits fragments du compost mature.

MÉGOTS DE CIGARETTE : les filtres des mégots ne sont pas biodégradables et donc ne vont pas au bac brun… et souhaiteriez-vous retrouver tous ces produits chimiques dans vos tomates?